commonkrot.blogg.se

How do i get microsoft word on my mac
How do i get microsoft word on my mac





how do i get microsoft word on my mac
  1. #How do i get microsoft word on my mac update#
  2. #How do i get microsoft word on my mac software#
  3. #How do i get microsoft word on my mac windows#

Is designed to be a Web site, not a UNC path" - we are not turning it into a UNC path by utilizing "net use" or subst. I regret that you don't feel like replying, but I understand that you have other/better things to do. Thanks for letting me know your valued opinion. I won't be responding to this thread anymore. Tried several times to provide factual based reasoning on why I don't. I don't recommend it for reasons that I've already stated. Work with local and UNC paths that means you are using a sub-optimal workaround as the recommended solution. Since the Office Template function is designed to only SharePoint is designed to be a Web site, not a UNC path. Will the suggested solution work for some people. Second, As I already stated this has been an ongoing problem tested and observed across multiple versions of operating systems and multiple versions of SharePoint. That way you don't have to take my word for it being an issue. I was suggesting you search on the topic and read about what other people are reporting in terms of problems.

how do i get microsoft word on my mac

Twitter: Follow remember to mark your question as 'answered' if this solves your problem.įirst, I wasn't suggesting you go by the statistics alone. Owner/Principal Architect: Don't Pa.Panic Consulting

how do i get microsoft word on my mac

But I don't recommend it to most of my clients because my experienceĪt multiple clients, with multiple versions and Operating systems has been different. I'm glad your experience has been different. Its tough to be more specific than to say that SharePoint is not really designed with drive mapping as a primary connection methodology. Do a Search on "sharepoint problems with mapped drives" and look at the pages of responses you get with multiple people asking for help trying to map a drive, reconnect a drive or troubleshoot a problem with a mapped drive.

#How do i get microsoft word on my mac windows#

Its been a problem with all versions for some people since Windows XP. I've seen the followingġ) Workstations where you could never get the drive to map at all to a SharePoint libraryĢ) Instances where after connecting in the past the mapped drive fails to connect this time. rms Basically most of the scenarios you mention. I've since gotten out of the big team writing projects.īut it works ok as described above if people would just do it. Styles (which a lot of people pretended to not see). If you need templates to create fresh new documents with boilerplate based on templates in SharePoint, then I would use SP document content types and attached to the "New" button in SHarePoint in the normal way.įor me the biggest issue on the big writing projects I found myself leading was to manage the styles and formatting and swatting out people being "creative"with their own hard-wired formatting instead of using the "big buttons" defining take it up with Microsoft why so far down in guts. In Word 2016, the menu option is buried in Menu: File/Options/ Add-ins, pull down "Manage" "templates". I normally check "on" the "Automatically Document Document Styles" option. Ihe Doocument template field, paste in the URL. Gets there with various menu options), Menu: Tools/Templates and Add-in. In Word 2001 for OSX (and various versions of Word in Windows Get the URL for the document (right mouse click and pick Copy URL or whatever your browser uses for nomenclature).

#How do i get microsoft word on my mac software#

Michael Randle Technical Sales Manager Absolute Software Ltd Tel: 08450 944 744 Mobile: 07805 081 085 Web: I put the DOTX file in a SharePoint folder (hence in version control). My conclusion is that we should look into an alternative Document Management System, maybe something as simple as setting up access permissions on a shared drive. Neither scenario is good business practice.

  • The alternative (to get everyone to make local copies of the Templates) immediately ensures that the document management system is broken as all new documents will be created from uncontrolled copies of the templates.
  • It is illogical and inefficient to ask them to create all new documents by opening their browser, logging in to SharePoint, navigating to the appropriate Templates folder andĬreating their new documents from there, without being able preview and verify that they're using the appropriate template.
  • When creating a document, people will open MS Word and use File -> New.
  • #How do i get microsoft word on my mac update#

    I was rather hoping that Micrsoft would have provided a more seamless integration between their Office andĪs a Quality Manager, I want to be able to update the templates used by the company emlpoyees and roll them out without directly affecting the employees who use them. As far as I can gather, they all seem to indicate that SharePoint is not the right tool for my application.







    How do i get microsoft word on my mac